Reactions as Abia PDP holds primary elections


In Aba South Local Government Area, the electoral process started late with materials coming in at 4:30 pm while actual voting commenced at 5pm.

Five contestants battled for the sole chairmanship position with Ebere Clinton garnering 190 votes to defeat his challengers, Ogechukwu Ogbonna (31 votes), Clement Erondu (6 votes), Ogechukwu Ogbonna (31 votes), Young Ukaumunna (10 votes) and NCNC Okoli (1 vote).

After the declaration was made, a visibly excited Ebere said it was a victory for democracy.

In Aba North, the process was less clear as materials were yet to arrive the council Headquarters as at 7pm.

Samuel Okoro, our correspondent in Isi-ala Ngwa North reported that electoral materials arrived at about 3.50pm as accreditation of delegates started almost immediately. The Aspirants numbering seven were all present during voting. At the end of the process, Hon Chiwendu Ochulor won by a large return of 188 votes. The election was marred by shooting as security operatives quelled the unrest.

Meanwhile in Isi-ala Ngwa South, Ike Anyatonwu was declared winner of the Chairmanship primaries garnering 190 votes to beat other aspirants.