President Muhammadu Buhari rejects 17 bills passed by the 8th National Assembly


President Muhammadu Buhari has rejected 17 bills passed by the 8th National Assembly.

Buhari, however, gave accent to nine other bills passed by the last senate.

Senior Special Assistant to the senate President, Sen.Ita Enag disclosed this to journalists at a news conference in Abuja.

He explained that the president decided not to communicate to the 9th Assembly on the rejection of the bills because it could not take any decision on the rejected bills.

Enang, promised to engage the leadership of both chambers on the rationale behind the rejections of those bills.

He said the current National Assembly could not take action to override them because the law forbade the lawmakers to do so.

Recall that the nine bills assented to by president are: Police Trust Fund Act, Nigeria Natural Medicine Establishment Act, FCT Management Board and Health Insurance, Suppression of Piracy and other Maritime Defense Bill, Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria Bill, National Institute of Construction Technology and Management (Establishment) bill.