President Buhari sets up committee for his inauguration on May 29


President Muhammadu Buhari has set up an inauguration committee headed by the Secretary to the Government of Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, ahead of his May 29 swearing-in ceremony.

The committee will be inaugurated today.

Buhari, who won re-election on February 23rd, is expected to commence his second term in office from May 29.

In a related development, the President has approved the appointment of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo as the chairman of a committee responsible for auditing policies, programmes and projects inherited, initiated and executed by the incumbent administration.

The Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Olusegun Adekunle, in a statement titled “Constitution of the Inter-ministerial Presidential Inauguration Committee,” listed other members of the committee as:

The ministers of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, Interior, Gen. Abdulrahman Dambazzau, Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyema, FCT, Mohammed Bello and the National Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress, Adams Oshiomhole.

Others include ministers of Defence, Mansur Dan Ali, Health, Isaac Adewole, Education, Adamu Adamu, and Minister of State (Aviation), Heidi Sirika.

Others are acting Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, Director General of Department for State Service (DSS), Yusuf Magaji Bichi, Commander, Brigade of Guards, Permanent Secretary (State House), Permanent Secretary (General Services Office) and Permanent Secretary (Political & Economic Affairs Office) – Member/Secretary.

Other members of the committee include the President’s Chief of Ataff, Abba Kyari, Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Winifred Oyo-Ita, ministers of budget and national planning, Udoma Udoma, Finance, Zainab Ahmed, Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, Attorney General & Minister of Justice , Abubakar Malami, Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Ikechukwu Enelamah, Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, Agriculture & Rural Development, Audu Ogbeh, Water Resources, Suliaman Adamu, Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele, National Security Adviser, Maj. Gen. Baba Gana Mungonu, Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President, Member/Secretary.