INEC deregisters seventy-four political parties


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has deregistered seventy-four political parties.

Briefing newsmen in Abuja, the Chairman of INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu disclosed that the Commission carried out a review of the performances of political parties after the 2019 general elections to see which parties qualify to exist.

The certified political parties include: Accord Party (AP), Action Alliance (AA), African Action Congress (AAC), African Democratic Congress (ADC), African Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Labour Party (LP) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Others are: National Rescue Movement (NRM), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Young Progressive Party (YPP) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).