Federal Government seeks help from 28 countries to stop ISIS and other Militia groups


The Federal Government, through the Ministry of Defence, is currently perfecting strategies in collaboration with the defence ministries of 28 African states, to establish a counter-terrorism force.

The force is expected to tackle terrorist groups in the Saharan region, particularly the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria fighters, and Boko Haram.

The resolution was contained in a communiqué tagged ‘Abuja Declaration’, issued after a meeting convened by the defence ministers in Abuja, to seek regional cooperation, towards combating ISIS and other terrorist groups.

In the Abuja Declaration, the defence ministers said they were strongly concerned by developments in Libya, Mali, Central African Republic, Somalia, the Sahel and Lake Chad Basin, characterised by crises and terrorist groups’ activities.

Nigeria’s Minister of Defence, Mansur Dan-Ali, said the meeting would submit its recommendations to the Conference of Heads of State and Government for onward implementation.

The defence ministers also agreed that every country would implement national plans on counter terrorism and accompany them with demobilisation, rehabilitation and reintegration programmes.


Meanwhile, the Defence Headquarters, Abuja, has said its findings revealed that the Al Barnawi faction of the Boko Haram terrorists pledged allegiance to the ISIS fighters in 2016 after Operation Lafiya Dole troops in the North-East dislodged them from the Sambisa Forest area of Borno State.

The acting Director of Defence Information, Brig.-Gen. John Agim, said there was, however, no evidence from military intelligence that the ISIS group was sending its members to Nigeria to train Boko Haram terrorists.

Agim said the military would outwit all tactics by the terrorist group to have any foreign collaboration.