Court upholds US ban on five Muslim countries

Donald Trump

The United States Supreme Court on Tuesday upheld President Donald Trump’s controversial ban on travelers from five mostly Muslim countries

The Judgment is seen as a big victory for the Republican leader after a tortuous legal battle.

The justices ruled 5-4 that the most recent version of the ban, which the administration claims is justified by national security concerns, was valid.

The version at issue includes North Korea with the five mainly Muslim nations — Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen.

Certain officials from Venezuela are also targeted by the measure.